fullsizeoutput_13You know that saying? You wait 10 minutes for a bus and then 3 turn up at once; well, sometimes I feel like that about God. Although maybe that isn’t the best comparison given that I’m not a Hindu so that’s the wrong set of deities, but I think we can all admit that waiting can suck.

You know what can make it worse? Hearing people tell you that ‘waiting is the best gift you can be given, it brings you closer to God’ or ‘don’t worry, God has a plan’ – yes okay, thank you Miss Has-A-Long-Term-Boyfriend-And-Job-And-Knows-What-Is-Going-On, return yourself to whatever Pinterest board you escaped from. I can make that remark – I use Pinterest, and yes, sometimes I am that person.

Given that God is, well, God, we never really know what’s coming around the corner… He loves to keep you in suspense, and even when you know what’s coming it can take so long to arrive you wonder if it’s gotten lost in the post. Nobody understands that struggle better than Abraham and Sarah, or Jacob, or Noah or Moses – apparently God has a bit of a problem with time-keeping, given the number of people who have to wait a ridiculous amount of time in the Bible I haven’t even listed.

But, in every good story there is always a but and here it is: BUT, God is pretty darn good at keeping His promises. I’m talking He never forgets, God is basically an elephant (seriously, Hinduism seems to be somewhat of a theme in this post and I swear it wasn’t planned like that).

I just want to write an aside here to ensure everyone that I wholly love and respect God and believe that He does know what He’s doing and, ultimately, by ‘giving up our free will’ we gain an infinite amount of freedom. I’m just a very sarcastic person with a dry sense of humour who finds solace in self-deprecation and being sassy to The One True Creator™ – my therapist calls it my ‘Chandler Mask’. In keeping with that theme, God created me with all of this sass so He has to deal with it.

If you look through the Bible there are so many good examples of people who wait and have something amazing come to them. However, I’m sure there were also many people who are not mentioned in the Bible who waited and didn’t have what they wanted come to them – but, that’s a whole other blog post (don’t worry guys, it’s in my drafts)

What I’m trying to say is; God is not Amazon Prime. He doesn’t deliver on demand, and He definitely doesn’t do same-day delivery. And, it’s not that God doesn’t pick up on the hints you keep dropping about that thing you really want – He just doesn’t care, given that He has other, better, plans for you.

Have you ever watched the darts on TV? Well, they walk out to a (generally cringeworthy) theme song.

If God was a darts player, His theme song would be Limp Bizkit’s My Way (you know the song, don’t lie).

That’s the image I’m going to leave you with; God as a darts player walking out to:

This time I’m ‘a let it all come out
This time I’m ‘a stand up and shout
I’m ‘a do things my way
It’s my way
My way, or the highway

Leave a comment